Blog week ending 11th January

Posted on: 11/01/2019

All Students from Year 9 worked on a project as part of their PSHE series of lessons (Personal, Health and Social Education) Students examined the environmental impact of plastic waste in our seas and waterways.  Through research and investigation students considered ways that we could reduce the volume of discarded plastic via education of its impact to our sea creatures and by applying pressure to industry to reduce and replace plastic use.  Form 9N created posters and supporting materials. They were produced to support their findings and to raise public awareness and are displayed in the school.  This project generated many strong opinions and ideas with all students demonstrating great engagement with the issue.

Year 10 Chemistry students have been testing their hypotheses and extending their knowledge around the variables that affect temperature changes on reacting solutions.  The experiments included solutions such as, acid plus metals and neutralisations and required them to make observations and evaluate methods with a view to potential further investigation.

  

Year 9 Options Evening is scheduled for this coming Wednesday 16th January from 6.30pm –  parents/carers and students are invited to attend.

A team of WG6 students are currently progressing the design of their prototype Search and Rescue Drone.  The students are working in conjunction with BAE Systems Rochester on a project to develop a specialist drone to assist the search and rescue teams whilst in the field.  The students attended an engineering workshop in Canterbury this week to analyse and further their findings as they continue to progress the prototypes.  The team have used mathematical calculations to work out angles of movement to tilt without rising or falling and to determine the power required to fulfil its specification.  Zac has started work milling the aluminium casing and the cast pieces will be laser cut to the scale of the final product.  Sam and Finley are currently testing and coding the electronic elements.  We look forward to seeing a demonstration of the finished product.

  

First XI Football - North Kent Premier League Game.  In the penultimate game of the season the First XI sadly fell to a defeat with Hayes winning 3-2. Hayes scored the winning goal with the very last kick of the game in a game that Wilmington missed many opportunities in front of goal themselves. Wilmington's goals were scored by Leo T (getting his 8th of the season) and Joel A. The defeat sadly means the side can no longer qualify for 2nd place and a play-off spot now but they will be hoping to finish well in the final game of the season against BETHS on Wednesday 23rd January. 

The term dates for the next academic year 2019/2020 have been confirmed as below and can be viewed on the school website under News & Events, Term Dates here

Autumn Term

Tuesday 3rd September – Friday 18th October  (1st day year 7 and 12 only)

34

Half term  Monday 21 October – Wednesday 30 October

 

Thursday 31 October – Friday 20 December

36

 

 

Spring Term

Monday 6th January – Friday 14th February

30

Half term Monday 17th February – Friday 21st February

 

Monday 24th February – Friday 27th March

25

 

 

Summer Term

Wednesday 15th April – Friday 22nd May

27

Half term Monday 25th May – Friday 29th May

 

Monday 1st June –  Wednesday 22nd July

38

 

190 days

Confirmed Staff Training Dates:
  1. Monday 2nd September 2019
  2. Monday 25th November 2019
  3. Tuesday 14th April 2020
  4. Thursday 23rd July 2020
  5. Friday  24th July 2020

Avid Chelsea fan Teddy J of 7B, was selected to be a mascot for the Chelsea V Leicester game on the 22nd December.  Teddy and his family (including his cousin Jude of 10N) enjoyed game tickets, access to the players’ lounge as well as lunch and a signed ball!  Everyone at the club was incredibly friendly and made it a wonderful and memorable experience.